Short Teaser from Victor’s Story

“I’m sorry,” she finally burst out. “When you called earlier, I thought…”

“You thought I was lying,” I finished her sentence stiffly.

“I’m sorry.”

“I don’t generally lie if I can avoid it,” I told her, feeling like she’d have figured that out if she’d taken the time to get to know me. I tried to bury my resentment and see things from her point of view but it still hurt. “I wouldn’t lie about something important like this.”

Samantha looked genuinely apologetic. “I’m sorry but…I went out with Nils for two years. And for two years…I didn’t know he was lying all along. Every. Single. Word. So I guess I don’t trust guys very much anymore. My trust function is kinda shattered.”

“He lied to you?” I asked softly, wondering what he’d lied about.

She looked at the ground and nodded.

I lifted her chin with my fist and held her gaze. “Did he tell you that you were beautiful?”

“Yes,” she nodded and swiped her knuckle at the corner of her eye.

“Then he didn’t lie about everything,” I told her gently.


20 responses to “Short Teaser from Victor’s Story

Leave a Comment

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

