Update on the Greystone Series

Just wanted to report that Force’s story is completely roughed out and in surprisingly good shape. I’m sure I can get this finished before the end of February. In the meantime, here’s a  snippet:

Finding a notepad and pencil in the drawer of my desk, I printed the letters of the alphabet then knelt beside him and went over the sound each letter makes. I didn’t really think he was serious about learning because he was like sixteen or seventeen. And if he hadn’t learned to read by now, it had to be due to a complete lack of interest, right? But I gave him the pencil and pushed the notepad onto his knee and told him to write something.

“Like what?”

“Like anything you want.”

“Alright,” he said, frowning at the letters. “How do you make the word, Camie?”

I pointed to the letters and he copied them one by one until he had printed my name. “Now write your name,” I suggested.

He answered by making some flowing lines on the paper.

“That’s not right.”

“T’is,” he insisted, looking insulted again. Maybe it was just me but he seemed to do that a lot (look insulted).

“No tisn’t,” I mocked him and grabbed the pencil.

He grabbed it back. “I know how to make my name,” he said stonily.

“In what language?” I demanded.

“In my language,” he answered.

“Well, don’t you want to know how to write your name in everyday English?”

“Nay,” he grunted. “I’d rather know how to make the word painintheass.”

“That’s four words,” I pointed out. “And why do you want to spell that?”

“I have a feeling I’ll be using it a lot,” he answered with a growl.

 


6 responses to “Update on the Greystone Series

Leave a Comment

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

