Snippet from Courage’s Story

The eighth book in the Greystone Series is coming along. Here’s an unedited excerpt:

I could hardly believe the next words that came out of my mouth because I really wasn’t feeling them. But I felt bad that the boy had overheard my conversation with Kyle. “Don’t leave,” I said. “At least, not now. Let me make you dinner. Then you can decide.”

He wrapped the fingers of one hand around the arm hanging at his side. “You’re not angry that I’m here?”

“I’m not mad at you,” I told him honestly. “I’m just angry with my brother. For leaving me alone with…someone I don’t know. And for taking advantage of you.”

“Nobody’s taking advantage of me,” he muttered, looking offended, like he wasn’t the sort of guy that anyone ever took advantage of and he wanted to make that point perfectly clear.

I sighed and opened the freezer door, digging around for a package of ground beef. “You could probably walk down the road to the next ranch and get a job that pays a monthly wage as well as three meals a day,” I pointed out.

“I want to be here,” he said flatly, in an end-of-discussion kind of way.

I shouldn’t have asked, but keeping my mouth shut has never been my strong suit. My brother likes to say I was born without a filter. I lifted my shoulders as I turned from the fridge with the paper-wrapped meat in my hand. “Why?”

He started to answer then hesitated, searching my face. “Do you want the truth?”

“I wouldn’t have asked if I didn’t want the truth,” I pointed out.

“I want to be here because you’re here.”


12 responses to “Snippet from Courage’s Story

Leave a Comment

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

