Update on the Greystone Series

I’m closing in on 50,000 words for the next installment of the Greystone Series (Courage’s story). Here’s a snippet:

 

He twisted in his chair so he could stretch his legs. “Can it be my turn again?”

At first, I didn’t know what he was talking about. “Are we still playing Truth or Dare?” I asked uncertainly.

I am,” he answered.

“Okay,” I said, and carried our plates to the sink. “Go for it.”

“Do you have a boyfriend?” he asked into the shocked silence.

It took me a few seconds to pull myself together. And while I was doing that, I lowered the dishes into the sink and started the warm water, adding some liquid soap that foamed up around the plates. “No,” I answered tentatively.

“Have you ever been kissed?”

And that was totally unexpected. My reaction wasn’t exactly positive. It was more like what-the-heck? And I-didn’t-sign-up-for-this! The guy was a stranger. And he didn’t need to know my entire romantic history…which didn’t amount to much. “I’ll take the dare,” I sighed as I turned around and leaned back against the counter.

He straightened in his chair. “You don’t want to answer the question?”

“Not today,” I answered, and pressed my lips together.

“You prefer a dare?”

“You catch on quick,” I told him in a flat voice.

A shadow of a smile flickered across his face. “Then I dare you to kiss me.”


2 responses to “Update on the Greystone Series

Leave a Comment

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

