Update on the Greystone Series

I currently have almost 10,000 words for Havoc’s story. That’s really good progress, considering I wrote almost all of them this weekend. I’m going to try to post more excerpts earlier on during the writing process. Here’s a ridiculously small snippet that opens the book:

Sixteen’s a great age. I should know, I’ve been sixteen for the last eight-hundred-odd years. And after returning to my living form at the end of all those centuries, I turned around almost right away and spent another four in stone. I did it so I could be Sophie’s age when she turned sixteen.

And that came about because I promised to take her to prom.

When I made the vow, she was really sick. And the docs at the hospital felt like she wasn’t trying to get better. So I hoped my promise would give her something to look forward to. I don’t know if it helped, but she did get better.

And I was all like mission accomplished, right?

After that, I went stone and waited out the next several years. Because I always keep my promises. Or at least always whenever I can. I can only remember one time in my life when I wasn’t able to follow through on a vow.

And that one still bothers me.


8 responses to “Update on the Greystone Series

Leave a Comment

alwaysopinionatedgirl

A girl with a mouth almost as big as her TBR list

